Conquer the Bridge

About one year ago a good friend of mine (Hi Amy!) competed in the Conquer the Bridge run. I was proud of her for taking on a challenge like this, and it actually inspired me to push myself farther as a runner.

I had seen some postings for this year’s version of the run, and I signed up for it a few weeks ago. I kicked up the training for the run by increasing my runs in the morning. I thought I had prepared well enough for the run. Boy was I wrong….

My last run prior to the event today was a 7 mile run. I knew that the distance of the run would not be an issue. That turned out to be correct. What I did not expect was the beast of an incline on the bridge. I made it up fine on the first trip which was east bound towards Terminal Island. The trip back headed into San Pedro was a killer.

Overall I finished the race in 1 hour 2 minutes, which is off of my normal mile pace, but those inclines really cut into a normal pace.

It was great seeing Amy there and I look forward to next year’s run on Labor Day.

4 Comments

Filed under Running

4 responses to “Conquer the Bridge

  1. Amy Zepeda

    Wow! This is awesome, Mark! So proud of u! I looking forward to running with u next year. It ain’t as easy as it looks, but we came & we Conquered! Good job!

  2. It was great seeing you out there today, and it looked like Jorge was even faster than I was. I look forward to improving my time next year.

  3. Amy Zepeda

    I have a new goal for next year. I’m going to try my best to run it under an hour. ๐Ÿ™‚ We can do it Mark! Jorge did awesome out there. So proud of us all. ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s a wonderful feeling when you cross that finish line, right?! We came, we saw & we conquered! ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. Margarita

    Whew! I am exhausted just reading this! Great way to spend Labor Day!

Leave a Reply

