Truffles

So, I had a surplus of chocolate in the pantry, and have been itching to try a recipe which did not involve firing up the oven. I thought “what about truffles?” They have very few ingredients, involve boiling heavy cream, melting chocolate with the cream, and adding vanilla and flavored liquors. Easy I told myself. Well, it is now 28 hours after I started this process, and they are finally done.

See, one of the aspects of truffle preparation is the need to cool the original batch of liquid ganache. Once cooled, you form them into balls, finally you roll the balls in whatever coverings you are matching the truffles with. My problem is that the kitchen is just warm enough to begin melting the balls as I try to work with them. So, I prepared the ganache last night, cooled it in the ref overnight. I came down this morning with every intention of rolling 60+ truffles, so that Libra and I could take them to work. Fat chance.

I left them in the ref while at work. Came home from work, changed and rolled all the portions into balls. Cooled them for a few more hours in the ref while I prepared dinner and we ate. I then decided to watch a movie that I learned about earlier today Saint Ralph was recommended on Ali’s blog.

Movie ended, came downstairs and rolled all of the truffles in the coverings. I was slightly puzzled as there were some gaps of the jelly roll pan where there had been truffle portions earlier in the day. At this poing, the sous chef (Libra) informed me that she had “tested” two of the truffles.

I rolled the Raspberry Truffles in coconut, pecans, and cocoa. For the White Chocolate Truffles, I went with coconut and powdered sugar.

I am more happy with the Raspberry Truffles. I will certainly look to make them in the future, and will also change the liquor for Grand Marnier. The White Chocolate ones need some tweaking of the recipe.

I am posting the recipe only for the Raspberry ones, as I am very comfortable with their result.

Ingredients:

2/3 cup heavy cream
12 ounces semisweet chocolate, chopped into very small pieces
1 tablespoon plus 1 1/2 teaspoons Framboise (raspberry liqueur)
1/3 cup premium cocoa
Shredded Coconut, Cocoa, or Chopped Nuts for coating

Preparation:

How to make chocolate Framboise truffles:

In a small saucepan over medium heat, bring the heavy cream just to a boil. Remove from the heat immediately. Add the chopped chocolate and Framboise and stir until the mixture – ganache – is completely smooth.

Chill the ganache until it is hard enough to roll into balls. Measuring out a heaping teaspoon, quickly roll the ganache into a ball. Roll the ball in the cocoa powder and chill.

This dark chocolate raspberry truffles recipe makes about 16 truffles.

I doubled the recipe, and came out with 45 truffles, as my portions must have been slightly smaller.

I will be bringing these to work on Friday. The first 5 people from work who comment on this post will get some.

Recipe Source

2 Comments

Filed under Dessert

2 responses to “Truffles

  1. Shannon

    These truffles are incredibly delicious!!! Thank you Mark for baking a small piece of heaven!

  2. Veronica/Roni

    I really enjoyed the little balls of yummy goodness. The center part wasn’t as “truffle-e” as should be but never the less, they were delish!!! I had a white chocolate one and you are now making me wonder what I was missing with the raspberry!!!! Let me know if you need a tester again…. lol.

Leave a Reply

