Better Than Clif Bars

So, after my very first 10 km this past Sunday, I assessed that I needed to prepare my body better, specifically with some type of food intake. Fluids have not been a problem prior to the race, but I need to work on my options for fluid intake during a run.

So, I started looking through a few different blogs for recipes on energy bars. You have probably seen these in stores, and might have even tried them. They are great, and serve the purpose they were intended for. However, they cost a lot, and there are many recipes available which get you the same product for nearly zero money. All of the ingredients in this recipe were in my pantry, and did not require an extra trio to the store.

Unfortunately, with this recipe there will be no taste testing for my co-workers. I will keeping all of these for me. Although there is a super user at FPH who might give a few to, so that she can try them when she runs with her buddy on her days off.

Ingredients:

2 cups rolled oats
1/2 cup all-purpose flour
2 eggs
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 cup peanut butter
1 Tbs canola oil
dash of salt
1/2 cup mini chocolate chips

Directions:

Heat the oven to 350 degrees, lightly coat an 8″ x 8″ baking pan with cooking spray
Mix all ingredients together until combined
Press batter into the baking pan and bake for about 20-25 minutes or until lightly golden brown
Cool and cut into 9 squares

Nutritional information (per serving): 230 calories, 10 grams of fat, 30 grams of carbohydrates, 7 grams of protein, 3 grams of fiber, and plenty of vitamins and iron from the oats, eggs, and peanut butter!

They came out great, and I had one just before the epic run today.

Recipe Source

Leave a comment

Filed under Baking

Leave a Reply

