Lemon Bars

Well, I have to give credit to this next dessert to my sister Jennifer. This past Saturday, her family and my mom and dad came out to our house to get together in honor of my dad’s retirement. While at the house, we started discussing this blog as well as my recent flurry of baking that I have been doing. Jennifer asked if I was planning on making any lemon bars in the near future, and I told her that I was thinking about possibly making some. She said if I was then I had to make the recipe here. She said that she has made them in the past, and even challenged my mom that see bars were better than the ones our mom has made forever. I was sold when my mom agreed with Jennifer that these were better. I was skeptical, as I have always loved my mom’s lemon bars, and I still recall getting a care package from her while I was in the army, and the highlight of the package were the lemon bars.

I got home from work on Monday, and decided to give these bars a go. I took out e dry goods from the pantry, and prepared the crust. Cranked up the oven, and put the pan in the oven to blind bake the crust. While it was in the oven, I looked at home much butter was remaining, and decided to make another batch of the Food For The Gods from the previous day. Once the crust was done baking, I took it out of the oven to cool, and proceeded to juice the lemons. These lemons were pretty good, and it only took 10 lemons to get the juice required. I finished the recipe for the Food For The Gods, and put it into the oven to bake. When it was only 5 minutes away from completing, I started to prepare the custard for the bars. I put the custard into the pan with the crust, lowered the temperature, and baked the bars.

I think these bars look great. I will be bring some of both the bars and the FFTG to my department on Tuesday. The remaining desserts will be arriving at QVC ER in the morning.

Recipe:

Total time: 1 hour and 45 minutes plus cooling time for the crust

Servings: 24

Note: Adapted from Euro Pane.

Crust

2 cups (8.5 ounces) flour

2/3 cup powdered sugar, sifted

1 cup (2 sticks) chilled butter, cubed

1. Heat the oven to 350 degrees. In the bowl of a stand mixer using the paddle attachment, or in a large bowl by hand, mix together the flour, powdered sugar and butter until they come together to form a dough.

2. Press the dough into a greased 9-inch-by-13-inch baking dish. Bake the crust until golden-brown, about 20 minutes. Remove and cool. Reduce the oven temperature to 300 degrees to bake the bars.

Filling and final assembly

8 eggs

3 cups sugar

1 1/4 cups lemon juice (from 12 to 13 lemons)

1/2 cup (2.1 ounces) flour

Prepared crust

Powdered sugar for dusting

1. In a large bowl, whisk together the eggs, sugar, lemon juice and flour. Pour the filling into the prepared crust.

2. Place the dish in the center of the oven and bake at 300 degrees until the custard is set, about 40 minutes. Cool to room temperature, then dust with a light coating of powdered sugar before serving.

Each lemon square: 253 calories; 4 grams protein; 40 grams carbohydrates; 0 fiber; 9 grams fat; 5 grams saturated fat; 91 mg. cholesterol; 25 mg. sodium.

Recipe source

1 Comment

Filed under Dessert

One response to “Lemon Bars

  1. sheryl

    your lemon bars looks soooooooo goood!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

