For all the friends and family with cancer

So, as I have started to run again on a more consistent basis, I told Libra that I was looking to run in actual events.  There is something about running with others that is just missing when I run each morning.

I have been spending time on the internet recently looking for competative runs in Southern California, and there are a few coming up that look very promising.  While surfing the web on Saturday, I happened to see that there was an event today (Sunday) in Studio City.  And, on top of the fact that I can attend the run it is to benefit a great cause.  I made sure to get up early today, and drove there.  I arrived about 30 minutes prior to the start of the festivities, and this gave me enough time to register for the event.  Only downfall was not getting anything to eat, as my energy was struggling slightly during the race.

I was definetly attracted to the race due to the three members of my family, Libra’s family, and Moniza’s family that have lost their battles with cancer and have passed away.  We cannot bring them back, but we can remember them, and attempt to look to help in the effort to find cures.

Sky was overcast, and great temperature for the race (70 degrees at the start).  Run was not too bad, although there are some unique ways that this organization calculates the distance for a 10 km race.  We had gotten to about 5.79 miles, and all of us were told that we needed to run another .75 miles prior to turning to the finish.  This seemed to be the only snafu, as I think they got confused between the people running the 5 km and the people running the 10 km.

Run was great.  Got some decent goodies after the race was over.

This run benefits a great cause and I will look to add this to my schedule of future runs.

If you would like to donate to the coalition, please just click here.

1 Comment

Filed under Running

One response to “For all the friends and family with cancer

  1. Margarita

    Wow, it is great that you are running Mark!! And all for a wonderful cause! Thanks for giving me the opportunity to donate.

Leave a Reply

